Young Alum


The Young Alumni Award is an honor which the college bestows on its alumni who have achieved a high level of success and are within 15 years of their Coe College class year. The following criteria are weighted and used to measure the nominees:

  1. Distinction in a professional field of endeavor. * (60%)
  2. Loyalty to Coe measured in volunteer service to the Alumni Association or related activities including, but not limited to, admission assistance, student engagement, alumni events, Board of Visitors, Alumni Council, or Coe Fund. (20%)
  3. Volunteer service to the community in which the nominee resides. (20%)
  4. Living award recipients must be present to accept the award, but the award also may be presented posthumously

Current members of Coe's Board of Trustees, Board Visitors or Alumni Council cannot receive this award while serving their term.

*Distinction may be shown by citing scholarship, awards and leadership recognition by one's peers in, but not limited to, trade associations, business, education, sports, and medicine.

To nominate a Coe alumna/us, download the Young Alumni Award nomination form or contact the Alumni Office directly at 319-399-8561, 1-877-KOHAWKS or by e-mail, Nominations are due to the alumni office by February 1.

Past Honorees
Here are the past Young Alumni winners, grouped by year of induction.

Matthew Clark '95
Jeremy Pilgrim '96
Amy Burgin '02
Chad Shearer '99
Kyle Fargen '04
Megan Gilligan '05
Mason Kuhn '00
Katherine A. Roger '08