Athletic Hall of Fame


The Coe College Athletic Hall of Fame was begun by Coe Athletics Director Barron Bremner with the assistance of a committee of alumni C-Club letter winners. The constitution was written in November 1972, and the charter class of 17 was inducted October 26, 1973.

Conditions for induction are:

  • The candidate must have received a varsity letter and have completed their degree requirements at Coe College, or have been an athletic coach and/or staff member at Coe College.
  • A candidate is not eligible for a period of ten years following the completion of his/her athletic career at Coe College. The award may be voted posthumously.
    • This does not pertain to an athletic coach or athletic staff member.
  • A candidate must have made a contribution to athletics:
    • As an outstanding athlete at Coe who has later led a responsible life.
    • Attention should be given to a candidate's body of work at Coe College as an athlete, coach or athletic staff member.
    • Consideration should not exclude a candidate who has achieved success at an elite level and led a responsible life.

A selection committee is appointed each year according to the guidelines of the constitution. The committee selects among nominations from C-Club members.

Each nominee's photo and induction is framed and permanently displayed in the Coe College Athletic Hall of Fame in Eby Fieldhouse.

To nominate a Coe alumna/us, download the Athletic Hall of Fame nomination form or contact the Alumni Office directly at 319-399-8561, 1-877-KOHAWKS or by e-mail, Nominations are due to the Alumni Office by March 1.

View Athletic Hall of Fame members here.